République depuis le 5-10-1961

Ancien bantoustan de l'Afrique du Sud, formé de sept territoires séparés
(dont un limitrophe du Botswana).
Son indépendance («homeland» depuis 1977) ne fut pas reconnue par l'ONU.
Superficie : . 44 000 km2
Population (en 1990) : 1 959 000 hab.

Capitale : Mmabatho

Bophuthatswana was a former Bantustan (homeland) in the north of South Africa. It had a surface area of approximately 40,000 km² and consisted of seven enclaves dispersed over the former South African provinces of Cape Province, Transvaal and Orang Free State. The capital Mmabatho was situated in an area bordering Botswana. The homeland was set up to house Tswana speaking peoples. In 1983 it had more than 1,430,000 inhabitants.

In 1971 Bophuthatswana was given self-rule and it became independent on December 5, 1977. The people forced to live there lost their South African nationality. Kgosi Lucas Mngope was appointed head of state. After a failed coup in 1988, Mangope was forcibly reinstated by South Africa. In the beginning of 1994 he was replaced by an interim government. On April 27 of the same year Bophuthatswana was reincorporated in South Africa, together with the nine other homelands.


Emission  :  1980
N° Y. & T. : n° 55





Cigarette en forme de croix

Thème :

Journée Mondiale de la Santé

Campagne anti-tabac


Commentaires :

Informations techniques :

Taille : .. x .. mm Dessinateur :  
Dentelure : 14 1/2 x 14 Couleur :  polychrome
Valeur(s) :  5 c N° Scott :  


Retour à la page d'accueil

Copyright © HA.2000-2011

18/11/22 -->